More Complicated Beginnings

One thing that I love about traveling        1535375_10202204127121215_899255360_n

is the people. I discovered this before

I’d even begun my travels and was still

in my research stage of my first big

venture. Travelers, backpackers,

nomads, vagabonds, rubbertramps or

whatever you want to call them are

some of the most incredible and

helpful people in the world. I just

hope I can live up to that standard.

_________________________________

I remember last year when I dreamed up my first European trip that I was initially overcome with excitement, but once that had subsided a bit, it was quickly replaced with fear. Fear that I had no idea what I’d gotten myself into. I didn’t know the first thing about travel. That is other than the occasional family trip to some amusement park, or the random friend escapades camping. But Europe. Woah. A whole new level of knowledge and know how was needed for something like that.

What I quickly found to be my biggest asset in building my repertoire of European knowledge was the traveling community itself. The seemingly never-ending  mountains of how to’s, guides, tips and tricks and personal experiences that I’d found was a very pleasant surprise to say the least. Then before I knew it I had finished my research and had the trip planned and ready to go, way ahead of how long I thought it’d take.

Even on the road every fellow traveler I met and had the pleasure to cross paths with was incredibly friendly, warm, and welcoming. Something sometimes alien to the capitalistic United States that I hailed from. I never expected to come back from Europe with the amount of new friend I had gained either.

1505266_10202204127401222_1427321373_n

All that being said though one thing that I’ve been wanting to do since returning home is give back to the community that has been all to kind to me. So in the coming weeks and months I’ll be walking you through the process of how a big trip like this is planned logistically, mentally and how to deal with things on the road. So expect to see some…

  • How to’s.
  • Guides.
  • Random thoughts.
  • Tips and Tricks.

Basically anything that I would’ve liked to have seen or known before going into my own big adventure.

Have no fears though if you’re already an experienced traveler or just don’t care about how it works. I’ll still be keeping up with stories, the Round Ireland Swim and other adventure related things. My hope is to just give back to the community I love in some sort of small way, and this is the best way I know how to right now. And if all goes well by the end of it all it’ll be somewhat comprehensive and helpful.

So hopefully this all works out and if there’s anything you’d like me to cover specifically, or anything you may need to know, or are interested in please let me know and I’ll do my best to cover it. So… let’s do this thing! Hoo Ha!

 

2 responses to “More Complicated Beginnings

Comments, questions, revies:

